top of page
  • Writer's pictureArian

”Gyu Drive”

Take a walk with "Gyu---" (rumbling stomach).

We went out for a walk, saw cherry blossoms, ate sushi. In the end, we still didn't know who or what "Gyu" was.


But, this "Gyu"... seems to have some kind of "will", right?

Thinking that, I decided to move on to the next stage of the experiment.

Started the next experiment while the kids were at school. Handled various tasks quickly on another day to make time.

We went out by car. "Today, Gyu, we're going for a drive together," I whispered secretly.

"Gyu Drive" was tough at first. I was nervous at every intersection. Gyu, who tells me when to turn, is slow! Do you want me to turn left now? But I'm in the far right lane! Ah, I missed the turn!

Stopped the car halfway, and negotiated in my head, "Gyu, please tell me to turn a block before the corner!" While negotiating, there was also a part of me in the corner of my mind thinking, "What am I doing? Am I sane?"

Gyu started telling me to turn a block before. It seems that it's negotiable.


We drove the car quite far out into the suburbs.

I was tense the whole time while driving, but there was a moment when Gyu didn't stop even after turning at an intersection.

Huh? Gyu didn't stop! What's going on! Is Gyu broken? What should I do! What am I supposed to do from now on???

I panicked.

Ah! Could it be! Did I make a wrong turn?

I went back to the intersection where I turned. When I looked in a different direction from before, my stomach tightened up with a "Gyuuuu".

I see, Gyu doesn't stop when I make a mistake and go the wrong way!

Once I understood that, I felt much more relaxed.

Gyu not continuing means I'm going the right way. What does it mean to be right? Well, whatever. Today is all about experimenting.


In the end, we ended up on a Gyu Drive for two hours from home.

The place we arrived at was a small harbor in a small inlet of a seaside town. It was a very small dock where the locals set out boats.

We parked the car. Hardly anyone came. The scenery was so beautiful.

And once again, it got me.

Once again, I was deeply moved.





Living in a city where there are always lots of people,

Finding a place where I could quietly gaze at the sea like this, it's amazing. (Well, even though it took two hours of driving)

This place has become like a power spot for me. Even now, I sometimes go alone, and on full moon nights, we go as a family to see the moon 🌕


Feeling hungry during the nerve-wracking first Gyu Drive, I once went back to a nearby town for crepes to go, then returned to the dock.

I opened the car windows wide at the dock, eating crepes while gazing at the sea.

As I spaced out, various thoughts kept floating in my mind, lingering.


Before I knew it, about two hours had passed. I had to return before the kids got back from school.

With a heavy heart, I left the dock.

The way back was bothersome, so I used the map on my phone. Looking at the map, I finally grasped where I was.


After driving for a while, I suddenly snapped back to reality.

What on earth was I doing? Eating crepes by the sea all alone, leisurely! If I had time to do something like that, I should have gone to the doctor's office to pick up the school forms for the kids today! What a waste of time!

At that moment,

Words popped into my head.


"It's important."


!!!!!!!

Who!? Who???


My stomach. Gyu sensation. And ringing in my ears. A very high, ringing sound.


"It's important?" This? Lounging by the sea? Is that important?


"Yes, it is. It's important."


I couldn't hear any voices.

It feels like "words I haven't thought of myself" are popping up in my head. I can't hear voices, but I can understand what kind of voice it is.

For example, when a childhood friend shouted from outside, "Hey, come out!" — I can't hear it, but I know what kind of voice it was, and I can vaguely picture my friend's smiling face with their bobbed haircut. It's that kind of feeling.

It felt like a man's voice. A strong man's voice.


Finally... finally, Gyu started talking. Have I really come this far... I need to seriously consider going to the hospital...


As I thought about this, Gyu kept talking to me.


"Believe. If you don't believe, nothing will start."


Did he say something like that? Was it like that? I don't remember, but since the person himself is saying it now, it was probably like that.


"You're so stupid."


Oh, that was said. I remember. It's nostalgic, isn't it? Oh, was that said to help me remember? Or was I just called stupid again?

Well, whatever.


"Gyu" has also conveyed his name to me. For now, I'll stick with "Gyu" as the name here. The name he told me was an angel's name. I'm not religious, but I remembered a few angel names from manga I read in Japan.


I become even more skeptical. Is it a demon, a low-level spirit, or a fox?!

An ordinary middle-aged woman like me wouldn't have an angel come to her.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page