top of page
  • Writer's pictureArian

Classroom of the Heart, Part 3: A Mystery Extracurricular Activity at Age 8

During the practice of "storing energy in the fingertips to see auras," it might have been around 15 minutes, no, maybe 30 minutes... I'm not exactly sure. But after that, or around that time, we moved on to the practice involving what I'll refer to as the 'Heart.'


Firstly, each of us decided on a theme.


"Think of one thing about yourself that you dislike. It could be something about your body, like an injury or an illness," the teacher said.


The adults had various things they didn't like about themselves, but being too young, I couldn't think of anything, so I picked "callus on my finger."


The teacher asked us to sit comfortably on the cushion, did some breathing exercises... I think. Probably. We closed our eyes and were guided by the teacher's voice to an elevator.


"Slowly walk through the darkness. You'll see the doors of an elevator in front of you."


"Walk up to the doors of the elevator."


"What color are the doors? Take a look."


"There are buttons beside the doors. Try pressing one."


It was something like that, the teacher guiding us, and we boarded the elevator and descended to the ground floor. Looking back now, it seems like hypnosis.


I don't remember at all what floor we pretended we were on! I think it was the 10th floor? Then slowly, 9, 8, 7... descending. My memories of that part are quite vague. But I do remember the teacher saying things like, "We're going down deeper and deeper."


Perhaps being a child made it difficult for stray thoughts to intrude, or maybe it was easier to concentrate? I could see it vividly—the elevator. And the feeling of descending to the ground floor in the elevator was... how should I put it? It was floaty and pleasant.


We reached the ground floor in the elevator and opened the doors. There were two pictures displayed there, the teacher said.


On the right, there was a drawing of our disliked aspect. On the left, a drawing of ourselves after that disliked aspect was gone.


In my case, On the right, there was a drawing of a hand with a callus on my finger. On the left, a hand without the callus.


I remember the teacher suggesting later on, while I was drawing, that it might be good to include not just the hand with the callus but also a sad face of myself. While drawing the left side, they said, "Draw not just the hand without the callus but also your happy face when it's gone." I recalled this while writing this now.


There were a bucket full of ink and a large brush there, the teacher said.


With the brush, we drew a big 'X' on the right picture. With the brush, we drew a big circle on the left picture.


Then, we got back into the elevator, went up to the first floor, the second floor... and then opened our eyes.


This was the extent of the activities during the first session.



(10.31.2016)





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page